Meatloaf, meatloaf, double beatloaf… I love meatloaf!

Who the hell doesn’t love meatloaf?  I’ll admit, I was a vegetarian for about 5 years in my 20’s.  It all started with a Dateline NBC “undercover” investigation of slaughter houses in the midwest.  It seriously fucked me up for years.  I refused to eat meat for 5 years.  I got over it when I met Jason though, partly because he was a single dad (with little if any cooking skills), trying to feed his kids with whatever resources were available to him.  The fact that I had no kids, and was used to cooking really good vegetarian food for myself, presented a bit of a cunundrum.  Long story short, it all worked out as I came back to the dark side with my carniverous instincts, and everyone was happy.  It’s all come full-circle now, and of course no one appreciates my cooking until they no longer have it.  I’ve come to accept it, and really, nowdays I cook more for myself and for the experience than anything else.  There, I said it.  Truth be known..

Last Thursday I had surgery on my sinuses again.  Not nearly as invasive as it was last year.. That time my doc corrected a deviated septum, and blah, blah, blah, four hours later he was done.  This time, it was less than an hour, and BAM! Done.  Easy recovery, it was recommended I take a week or so off to recover, and needless to say I feel like a million bucks, and I’m ready to go back on Thursday.  In the meantime, I’ve proven myself once again, a kick-ass SAHM.  I already know I’m good at this; it’s just a matter of convincing my other half that we can survive as a one-income family.  Or perhaps it’s me convincing myself that that’s how I want to live.  I don’t know.  I know if it came down to it, we could make it, but do I really want that?  I don’t think so.

Anyway, last night I made a KICK ASS meatloaf with some ground buffalo that Jason’s friend had given us with the freezer we bought from him.  At first I had no idea what to do with it, but as of late Ryleigh has reminded me that she’s a big fan of meatloaf.  So, meatloaf it was.  I love it, but I refuse to make your average everyday meatloaf.  Knowing that buffalo is lean, I decided to add some Colissomo’s hot italian sausage to the mix, along with sauteed onions and garlic, fresh parsley, sour cream, eggs, parmisano reggiano, bread crumbs, and some great spices.  If you’d like the recipe, I’d be more than happy to give it to you as this was by far the best meatloaf I’ve ever had (or made), if I may say so myself.  I made this along with a greek potato salad which also kicked ass, but it was all foreshadowed by some major fucking drama brought along by the boy teenager.  Needless to say, the meal was ruined by all accounts, and well, what do you do?  It was salvaged tonight though, by cold meatloaf sandwiches on toasted whole wheat pita bread (really the best choice because it stays crunchy on the outside, and deliciously tender on the inside), and a spring salad with tomatoes, purple onion, and cannelinni beans.  Check it out for yourself.  I have to say it was one of the best meals I’ve made in a long ass time:

img_1176

4 responses to “Meatloaf, meatloaf, double beatloaf… I love meatloaf!

  1. This looks INCREDIBLE and I would definitely like your recipe. I have been craving meatloaf and this looks freaking delicious!

  2. Sounds awesome…yea, I want the recipe. I rarely make meatloaf…it’s been years, becuase I just don’t know how to do it right! I love your cooking tips. And glad you’re doing better after the surgery!! Been there done that..not fun, but worth it!

  3. I’m thinking hey – if my mom made meatloaf like that back in the day – my mindset would be completely different.

    That meatloaf sounds awesome!

  4. Pingback: Big Love Sushi Club

Leave a Reply

