Comfort food anyone?

I love fall. I love it like I love the beginning, and up to the middle of every season. Fall mornings start off chilly, the days still feel a little like summer, and the nights are back to being a tad chilly. Every season has their benefits, and their downfalls. Now don’t get me wrong, but the downfall for me, for fall, is the fact that it’s the beginning of comfort food season. And comfort food to me, is not the most waistline-friendly type of food for someone who is trying to lose weight. When I was a kid, dinner was totally predictable. Monday, Spaghetti; Tuesday, Tacos; Wednesday, soup; Thursday, Shepherds Pie, (you get the idea). I always loved Spaghetti and taco night, but hated soup night. My point is, dinner was not exciting to me. And I don’t blame my mother, now that I look back, we were truly lucky to have a home cooked meal every night of the week. We never went out, and we never had pizza delivered to our house. To be honest, I only remember our whole family going out to dinner one night. My parents were in the beginning stages of getting divorced (we didn’t know this at the time, but life was not pleasant). We were in Heber, UT of all places, and for whatever reason, my parents took us all to Pizza Hut. At the time, there were six kids. Oi Vey! I remember it being an extremely uncomfortable night, and one that I most likely will always remember. Perhaps this is the reason I hate cheap pizza, and I will not drive to, nor sit at a pizza “restaurant”. Long story short, I moved out at the ripe old age of 17. I learned a lot in a very short amount of time.. one of those things I learned, and to me one of the most important things I learned, was about food. Food from other countries, food made from exotic ingredients, food that I had never had before. It was like a whole new world opened up to me, and I embraced the hell out of it. I still do, and I always will.

As a result of my love for food, my kids either suffer or benefit from it. If you were to ask them, they would probably tell you that they suffer, because I cook most nights of the week, and we rarely go out because I can’t handle the disappointment. Too bad suckas!! Anyway, tonight, I made Shepherds Pie. My oldest daughter Brittanie loves Shepherds Pie. But she loves it because my mom lived with us for a short time, and apparently Brittanie adored my mom’s version of Shepherds Pie. She has asked me to make it before, and I’ve obliged, but she tells me that mine “doesn’t taste like Grandma’s”. Hmmmm. Perhaps that’s why I don’t make it. No offense to my mom, but she didn’t have the pleasure of tasting food that was out of her comfort zone, so when she cooked, she cooked what she knew. Can’t blame her for that. As for me, I put my own twist on EVERYTHING. I try to follow recipes line for line, ingredient for ingredient, but I CAN’T DO IT. Tonight, my version of Shepherds Pie consisted of super lean hamburger, the obligatory canned green beans, tomatoes, garlic, onions, and the addition of toasted pine nuts and cinnamon. And of course, instant garlic mashed potatoes *cringe*, with sharp cheddar cheese on top. But can I tell you? It was divine. I didn’t take a picture, because I don’t care how good your Shepherds Pie is, it really doesn’t photograph well. So, please, tell me YOUR favorite comfort food, and I will come up with my own recipe to butcher the shit out of it!!!

One more thing, in the spirit of the election season, I have been tagged in a video related to the election. Shocked the hell out of me! Please have a look:
I ruined America

2 responses to “Comfort food anyone?

  1. My mom makes shepherds pie too! My mom is also very disappointed that I am a vegetarian, but in an effort to get me to come to dinner, she made me my very own shepherds pie with wheat meat… she was crying as she brought it to the table for me… it was really good though, just like I remembered from being a kid 🙂

  2. You gotta luv comfort food. Just the simple Mac N’ Cheese, Funeral Potatoes, Salsbury Steak & Mashed Potatoes…all good comfort foods. I didn’t knew you moved out @ 17! Hey, you survived, hard lessons along the way I’m sure; but, it’s made you a stronger person & who you are today. Which is a good thing!! :}

Leave a Reply

