Detoxing feels good, sorta

Over the last couple of months, I have gotten very uncomfortable in my own skin. And my pants. I am gaining weight like crazy and it’s making me feel absolutely horrible. Last weekend I ended up spending a couple hundred bucks on new clothes because I can’t button buttons anymore. I want to say the weight gain started as a result of not sleeping at night. Last year at this time, I was getting up at 5 a.m. and working out for an hour in my basement. Those days are so over, because I find it physically impossible to get up at 5am because I don’t fucking sleep. So, vicious circle, don’t exercise because I can’t sleep, and I can’t sleep because I don’t exercise. It’s NOT FAIR!! Anyway, when I had Ryleigh 7 years ago, I had a really hard time losing the last 20 pounds (I gained way too much weight). So, I heard about a clinic in town that does a program that includes weekly vitamin B6/B12/HCG injections, monthly visits with a nutritionist, and if your BMI dictates, and if you choose, you can also be given a prescription for an appetite suppressant. It was highly motivating for me, I lost all the weight, and then some. I reached my goal and I was in the best shape of my life. I joined a gym, I got to the point where I could walk around in a freaking bikini and feel totally hot, I felt so good. This lasted for several years. I kept the weight off, only fluctuating about 10 pounds or so from year to year, until this year. So, I went back at the clinic last night, and I feel really motivated to make a change. Not just in my eating habits (which frankly, aren’t the problem), but in other habits.. the worst being I LIKE TO DRINK WHEN I COOK. This is going to be the big challenge for me, because me thinks this may be a huge part of the weight gain. I wasn’t going to get into bad habits here (it’s so damn personal), but I feel like if I say it out loud it makes it more real. The reality of it is, no more drinking wine, or gin n coke every time I throw a frying pan on the stove.

That being said, the detox phase lasts anywhere from 3 to 17 days, it’s up to me. It’s not the worst thing in the world, it’s lots of lean protein and raw veggies; lots of water of course, and 2 oranges a day. I can do this part.. this is easy. It’s shifting my way of thinking about food, and about my health that is going to be the challenge. But since I’ve done it before and was super successful the first time around, I feel confident I can do it again, and this time stick with it for life. I’m going back to the clinic on Monday to go over the results of the body test they gave me on Friday. I know I’ll qualify for the appetite suppressant drugs.. BRING IT ON! And I’ll see how the next few days of detox go and decide after Monday if I want to keep going or not. Tonight I made a spinach salad with some purple onion and mini sweet peppers, and flounder fillets with fresh garlic and ginger. AND NO WINE, AND NO GIN AND NO VODKA. It was still pretty good…

4 responses to “Detoxing feels good, sorta

  1. I blame it on aging and metabolism. I struggle with my weight every hour of every day. I eat healthy, and go to the gym 4 times a week. I’m not fat, but am never happy with my size. The clothes is closet range from size 2 to size 8. Today I felt thin, but tonight I feel fat. I feel your pain.

    Good luck with your detox. Your commitment and will power are very impressive.

  2. Your food looks delicious. Why don’t you come over tomorrow and cook for me 😉 ?

  3. I know what you mean w/the cooking and drinking. The other problem I find is that when I’ve had a drink, I lose my eating inhibitions. I eat far more than I would have had I not had the wine or cocktail.

  4. You go girl! I admire your efforts on the clinic & taking all those steps! I agree with Amy, much has to do with aging & metabolism…especially for us women, it’s so not fair! I feel the same, this year in particular has been very frustrating for myself!! It’s not that I don’t get the exercise between Jazzercise 5x/wk & softball; but, it’s that constant battle still! My problem is I don’t take the time/have the patience to pay attention to how many calories, etc. And why does a good cocktail have to have so many calories? Again, not fair! Try this…vodka w/ vitamin water, it’s yummy & not so fattening! I do believe though you have to find a happy medium…enjoy what you eat/drink…life’s too short not too! Just all in moderation (at least that’s what they keep telling me :}). Good luck & know you’re still beautiful regardless!! :}

Leave a Reply

