I’m so off, it’s not even funny

I know we all go through these periods where things just seem out of whack. For whatever reason, the fucking universe just doesn’t want to cooperate with our personal wants needs, and I really really hate that! It doesn’t sit well with me at all. A whole series of events it seems has sort of lead to a discontent I haven’t felt in a very long time. Had a great visit from my husband’s sister, whom prior to this weekend, had not spent more than a few hours with since Jas and I met over 8 years ago. It was so nice to have her here and get to know her. She’s one of those very honest people who doesn’t have any pretenses and just is who she is, and I LOVE her for that. I posted a picture or two of her on my Flickr page, check her cuteness out.
Aside from the utter bullshit at work, I have been very frequently losing my sense of taste. Not my expensive taste, but my taste buds. This is really a bitch for me because I cook for my family almost every single night of the week. You know how when you get a bad cold, you can’t smell/taste for a day or so? That’s what I’m experiencing, but it’s totally intermittent, and I KNOW first thing in the morning when I can’t taste my coffee (insert HUGE sigh) that it will be a day-long event. I had intense surgery on my sinuses last year and I can’t help but think it is related in some way. Nonetheless, it’s very frustrating to say the least. AND to make things worse, I am gaining weight like a son-of-a-bitch for reasons unknown to me other than the Paxil I’ve been on for a few months now. I can handle some vanity pounds, but now it’s getting out of control. Honestly, when I can’t taste my food, I feel like what’s the point of eating? But then I remember, OH YEAH, I’M STILL HUNGRY. It’s a strange sensation that is really messing with my mind. I have been uninspired to cook anything uber delicious, although there have been a few good meals here and there. In fact, my sis-in-law claimed the barbequed trout with an arugula salad was one of the best meals she’s ever had! (Lies to make me feel better, I’m sure):

And tonight ended up being Faco Friday, because, well I told my husband it was his turn to think of something for dinner, and as usual, he came up with tacos. Not glamorous, but they were delicious:

So if you have any ideas about the taste bud thing, let me know. My WebMD searches have told me it’s a brain tumor or schizophrenia. I can’t live with that.

2 responses to “I’m so off, it’s not even funny

  1. Well, this is the best link I have found with way better diagnosis than WebMD.

    http://www.mothernature.com/Library/Bookshelf/Books/16/222.cfm

    Your sinus issues seem like the most obvious culprit to me. I would definitely be making a trip to the old Doc’s office soon, if I were you.

    So happy to see a post again, you are doing GREAT!!! Love your writing style. For sure making me want some more. 🙂

    Side Note: When ever I ask my Blain what he wants for dinner, the reply is ALWAYS tacos! I’m not a big taco fan, so he has to make them if I ever even bother to ask him what he wants any more. Yours look way more appetizing than what he makes though! I might get into them if he made them look like yours.

  2. Wish I had the answer for you…that sucks though!! I’m with you on the gaining weight for no reason either….I’m assuming it’s the “joys of getting older”. VERY frustrating though! Especially, for myself, knowing I do work out & eat well…so, there s/b NO REASON for that shit! You’re still beautiful though…don’t forget that!! :}

Leave a Reply

